Going vegetarian

26 03 2011

So, I’ve come to the decision to try vegetarianism.  I cannot stomach the thought of meats currently…read my other blog to find out why. I mean physically cannot stomach it.  Then I read a post from a ex-fellow teacher from Crockett.

http://nomeatathlete.com

This is the kind of person I want to be.  I don’t want to be the type of person that is outcasted by most people in society.  I don’t want to hurt other’s feelings by not eating any pre-prepared meals.  But I don’t want any animals to be killed in order to feed me.  Especially now after reading so many heart-wrenching articles about animals being tortured and treated so inhumanely.  It hurts me.  Now this idea did not just come to me in the past 3 days.  About 3 months ago, I was preparing a whole chicken to go in the rotisserie oven.  The chicken still had some feather bits attached and his neck was not completely severed.  This was my first moment of queasiness with meat.  Now, I think I’ll try it.  I won’t say forever, but I will go down this path as much as I can.  I already discussed it with Mario, who is very supportive and doesn’t mind eating meatless occasionally.  He actually spoke of considering this himself occasionally.  I do love my cheese, so I do not think I could completely go vegan…but if my lactose intolerance worsens this may be a step that I take involuntarily.  But currently only milk, ice cream, and dairy based creamers bother me.  Unless I read another article that turns me away…which I am not going to start looking for. 

So, I’ll keep you posted on this adventure.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

