Day 11 Mac & Cheese Night!

26 01 2012

Does this count as dinner?

 

Macaroni and Cheese, food of my youth and dinner today.  Now I have graduated to liking the tastes of “gourmet” mac and cheese, but my heart still is fond of the good ol’ blue box brand Kraft.  I know its overly processed, definitely not clean eating, but hey sometimes one needs easy and comforting.

 

 

I ❤ Mac & Cheese!

Of course after work today, I was sooo tired that the thought of boiling the water seemed like too much.  My mind kept going back to my cabinet with the 2 mac and cheese cups.  I was thinking “Does this count as dinner?”  Then I thought, No Mario would not get full of this.  He needs real dinner.  So what did I do?  I fell asleep on the sofa.  Until around 7 o’clock.  Mario was finally like “What’s for dinner?” 

 
Now this was the first dinner in 11 days of planning that he did not select, so of course he was like “Can I just go out for dinner?”  I said no, because we really do need to save money.  Now this dinner he didn’t pick, not because I desparately wanted Macaroni but because he was kind of tired planning the menu.  I understand.  Not necessary a guy thing.  Of course it should not be a woman thing either, but someone has to do it.  The someone that cooks, which in this house is me. 
 
So, Mac and Cheese is easy.  Read the label.  There are pictures.  I used Almond Milk for the obvious reason (Mario=lactose allergy).  Along with my Phineas and Ferb shaped noodles (Hey, why do kids get all the fun?), I served Mario some frozen chicken strips.  I use Hungry Girl’s recipe.  Mario loves it.  Healthy, nutritious, and today easy.  For mine, I followed his lead and microwaved a Morningstar Chick’n patty for myself. 
 
Yum all around!
Actions

Information

One response

26 01 2012
Meal Plan #2 « thelifeofkellybennett

[…] Mac and Cheese! Meatless Monday […]

Leave a Reply

