Meatless Monday Deliciousness

30 01 2012

Some days dinner needs to be quick, but delicious...

So we tried this guy out today as gardener.  Let me tell you in 12 hours, he did miracles.  It was well worth the money.  So that inspired me (for some reason) to make cornbread.  Well, technically I was thinking about making rolls with the soup tomorrow.  Then I started thinking that cornbread would be very good with it.  Then I thought, “Why wait until tomorrow?”  I could make it now.  So I did.  I used this recipe from here.  I uh, misread baking soda for powder, but I added some cream of tartar and it worked out deliciously.  Very sweet almost cakelike, but melt in your mouth yummy with butter.  The recipe said to bake for 25 minutes, but in a muffin tin it only took like 18 minutes in my oven.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Spray or lightly grease a 9 inch round cake pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir in egg, milk and vegetable oil until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

I also made Hamburger Helper with Crumbles, which is a meatless meal staple, and a lovely salad of romaine, tomatoes, celery, carrots, and bacon bits.  Yes, bacon bits.  Did you know that most bacon bits are made out of textured soy and not animal products?  Yah, it was kind of hard to eat the first few bites until I reminded myself of that.  For more info, please click here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

