Getting Organized!

7 02 2012
Baked BBQ Chicken & Mac ‘N Cheese

So this week I undertook an additional endeavor to our meal planning.  I like to call it meal organization.  I have been reading and recently subscribing to a website called Once a Month Mom for a while.  The whole purpose behind the site it to get organized, do huge cooking days, and freeze enough meals to feed any family for a month.  While I aspire to this, I have not yet committed to a whole month’s cooking in one day.  And I have not convinced Mario that this is a good idea either.   But someday, this will be reality.

 
Instead this week, I have been prepping ahead night by night to make my day easier the following day.  On Sunday when I got home from grocery shopping, I began making soup.  While I was doing this, I thought that I should go ahead and make the stuffed shells for Monday.  Very easy…..well, it wasn’t too difficult just a little bit of prep that lasted the entire 1 1/2 to 2 hours that the soup was on. 
 
I also did another task I had been aspiring to…Salad in a jar.  I had made single salads for next day consumption in a jar previously, but this time I went ahead and got the entire week’s worth of salad ready.  Three days in and still crispy!  Yum!
 
On Monday night, I felt like I had lots of time handy so I decided to prep ahead the mac and cheese for Tuesday and make French bread.  Ugh, I know.  It was a bit of work, but it had tasty outcomes!  I had frozen a piece of last week’s BBQ chicken for Mario so today all I needed to do was nuke and serve.  It took approximately 5 minutes in the microwave, but I don’t think he even noticed it was frozen!!!  Upon reheating the mac for dinner, I poured an additional 1/4 cup of milk over to prevent it from drying out.  Mario loved it.  It was funny too because last night he mentioned switching meals on Tuesday and Wednesday “to make it easy.”  But it was done!  Hahaha!
 
On Wednesday, I got a well deserved nap!  No prep aheads today because dinner tomorrow is frozen (not homemade) pot pie for Mario and an Amy’s tamale dinner for me. 
 
Thursday and Saturday should be easy, but I will have to get the pizza dough ready and the refried beans cooked.  The rest will be mega simple.
 
I like it!
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

